Arctic Parliamentarians Voice Strong Support to Indigenous Livelihoods

September 24, 2014 • Alena GerasimovaBlog

The 11th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region was hosted by the Canadian parliament in Whitehorse 9-11 September 2014 and the text is a strong expression of support for indigenous peoples in the Arctic and that their traditional livelihoods need support while recognizing that the Arctic is a developing region, industrially.

The Conference unanimously adopted a Conference Statement directed towards the governments of the Arctic Region, the Arctic Council and the institutions of the European Union. The first part of the Conference Program was the welcoming remarks chaired by the two Co-Chairs of the Conference Ms Sara Olsvig, MP and Chair of the Standing Committee  (SCPAR) and Mr David Tilson, MP and President of the Canada-Europe Parliamentary Association.

The welcoming remarks of Mr David Tilson , Hon. Daniel Lang, Senator, Yukon, Mr Ryan Leef , MP, Yukon and Hon. Darrell Pasloski, Premier of Yukon.

Following the welcoming remarks, Ms Sara Olsvig reported to the Conference of the activities of the Standing Committee since the 10th Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region in September 2012.

The topic of the Session 1 was: Sustainable Infrastructure Development.

The first panelist was Mr Mitch Bloom, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency. Mr Bloom was followed by the second panelist Mr Rick Myers, Mining Association of Canada. Mr Dennis Bevington, MP Canada and Vice-Chair of SCPAR was the rapporteur in session one.

Session 2 was titled: Governance Models and Decision-Making Processes

The first panelist was Ms Dalee Sambo Dorough, University of Alaska, Anchorage. She was followed by Ms Susan Harper, Department of Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Development, Canada.

Mr Eirik Siversten, MP from Norway, was the rapporteur from the Standing Committeeon Governance Models and Decision-Making Processes.

Session 3 was titled: Enhancing Northern Economies: Responsible Resource Development and Capacity Building

The first panelist was Mr Justin Ferbey, Carcross/Tagish Management Corporation. The second panelist was Mr Tom Paddon, Baffinland Mines.

The rapporteur from the Standing Committee was Senator Lisa Murkowski, US Senate.

Session 4 was regarding: Environmental Challenges.

The two panelists addressing Environmental Challenges were Ms Gail Fondahl,University of Northern British Columbia, and Ms Annika E. Nilsson, Stockholm Environmental Institute.

The rapporteur from the Standing Committee on Environmental Challenges was Senator Vladimir A. Torlopov, Council of Federation, Russia.

Source: Conference of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region