See the joint Statement of Ministers from the 2nd Arctic Science Ministerial

Октябрь 29, 2018 • Alena GerasimovaBlog

The Ministers representing the eight Arctic States (Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark — here represented by Ministers of Denmark, Faroe Islands and Greenland -, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Swedem and the United States), fifteen further States…

(Austria, Belgium, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom), and the representatives of the European Union, joined by the representatives of six Arctic Indigenous Organizations (Aleut International Association, Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, Saami Council), have gathered of further enhance collaborative science efforts in the Arctic. 

During the second Arctic Science Ministerial meeting, which took place in Berlin, Germany, on October 25 and 26, 2018, above mentioned participants developed a joint Statement, where they described the new and enhanced collaborative activities. «We emphasise the necessity for all States and the European Union conducting research in this region to work together, in collaboration with Arctic Indigenous Peoples and local communities, as appropriate, to enhance and deepen scientific knowledge and understanding of the Arctic in order that it remains a safe, sustainable, prosperous and peaceful place for generations to come«.